Skip to content

Lines that stick with you

March 21, 2012

Rarely do movie lines stick with me, unless I find them hilarious and I try to memorize them for comedic use later. But on Christmas Day I saw the English version of “Girl with the Dragon Tattoo.” It was fantastic. One line stuck with me. And I just rewatched the movie this week, it’s just as powerful.

Let me ask you something. Why don’t people trust their instincts? They sense something is wrong, someone is walking too close behind them. You knew something was wrong. but you came back into the house. Did I force you? Did I drag you in? No. All I had to do was offer you a drink. It’s hard to believe that fear of offending is stronger than the fear of pain. But you know what, it is.”

Wow. It gives me chills. There’s such truth in that! It’s amazing how much sentiment one sentence can capture.  It speaks to so much – about politeness and society, not trusting instincts, believing in the goodness of people. Well done, writers. Well done. I hope I can create a line that sticks with people in my books. I’ve seen the Swedish movies, read the first book of the series. That line isn’t in either of those. But what a great addition to this film!

And…am I the only one who will never think the same about Enya’s “Sail Away”? If you haven’t seen this movie yet, I recommend it.

Are there any great movie or book lines that have really stuck with you?

No comments yet

Leave a comment